Language name and locationː Alagwa, Dodoma region, Tanzania [Refer to Ethnologue]

言名称和分布地区阿拉瓜 (瓦希语Wasi),  坦桑尼亚中部多多马区 


1. wák

21.  mibeeri ndʒad haa wak

2. ndʒad

22.  mibeeri ndʒad haa ndʒad

3. tam

23.  mibeeri ndʒad haa tam

4. tsʼiɡaħ

24.  mibeeri ndʒad haa tsʼiɡaħ

5. kooʔan

25.  mibeeri ndʒad haa kooʔan

6. laħooʔ

26.  mibeeri ndʒad haa laħooʔ

7. faanqʼw

27.  mibeeri ndʒad haa faanqʼw

8. dakat

28.  mibeeri ndʒad haa dakat

9. ɡwelen

29.  mibeeri ndʒad haa ɡwelen

10. mibⁱ

30.  mibeeri tam

11. mibaa wak

40.  mibeeri tsʼiɡaħ

12. mibaa ndʒad

50.  mibeeri kooʔan

13. mibaa tam

60.  mibeeri laħooʔ

14. mibaa tsʼiɡaħ

70.  mibeeri faanqʼw

15. mibaa kooʔan

80.  mibeeri dakat

16. mibaa laħooʔ

90.  mibeeri ɡwelen

17. mibaa faanqʼw

100. mibeeri mibⁱ  ( 20 x 10 )

18. mibaa dakat

200. mibeeri mibⁱ ʔawaa ndʒad

19. mibaa ɡwelen

1000. mibeeri mibⁱ ʔawaa mibⁱ

20. mibeeri ndʒad



Linguist providing data and dateː Prof. Roland Kiessling, University of Hamburg, Germany, July 11, 2007.

供资料的语言学家: Prof. Roland Kiessling, 1997 年 7 月 11 日.


Other comments: Alagwa has a decimal system of counting similar to Burunge.  
Alagwa (Alaagwa’isa) is a Cushitic language spoken in Tanzania in the Dodoma region by about 30,000 speakers. Some Alagwa have shifted to other languages such as Sandawe.
Alagwa has five vowels (/a, e, i, u, o/). The five vowels have contrastive long counterparts [3] and there are two diphthongs (/ay, aw/). Alagwa also has 29 consonants, including ejectives (/ts, q, qʷ/), pharyngeal fricatives( /ħ, ʕ/), and labialized velars and uvulars. There are two tone levels in Alagwa: low and high tone e.g., darimbáa "grass". Tone has grammatical function and limited lexical function. However, it cannot be described as a tone language because some words have only one tone (despite the number of the syllables) and the majority have none.